“Old Speckled Hen” Ale

5.2% alc./vol., 500 ml can
Morland Brewing – http://www.oldspeckledhen.co.uk/
Bury St. Edmunds, England

DSCF1340

Happy Christmas!  You know, as I visit some 350 web sites for the beers I drink, I’m getting a bit tired of entering my birthday.  I’m over 21 (U.S.), over 19 (here at home), and over 16 (Germany).  Finally, the “Hen” tells me something useful:  “Believe it or not, you share your birthday with Australian escapologist Lance Billingate?”  He was a rather unsuccessful escape artist.  If you reload the page, you get a new shared birthday.  How do they do it?  Well, I was unable to Google any of the semi-famous people I share my birthday with, so I think it’s all made up.  Sure enough, I tried a different birthday and after “reload” a few times, Lance Billingate shows up again for a different birthday.  “Old Speckled Hen” (the quotes are theirs) is named after a paint-spattered car once used at the MG (Morris Garages) car factory, often parked next to the paint shop.  This Hen is a pretty good example of an English ale, and that’s always a good thing.

This entry was posted in Ale, England. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

